Report an accessibility problem

2020 Lawrence Symposium on Epitaxy

2020 Lawrence Symposium on Epitaxy

6 PM Sunday, February 16 (evening reception) to 1:00 PM Wednesday 19, 2020
Location: McCormick Scottsdale | Scottsdale, Arizona

Sunday, February 16th

6:00-9:00 PM

Registration and Welcoming Wine Reception

The McCormick Scottsdale
7401 North Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85253


Monday, February 17th

Session: 8:00 AM- 5:30 PM, Hosted Dinner 6:10-7:30 PM 

Morning Session Chair: Nate Newman, Arizona State University

8:00 – 9:00 AM  Hosted Breakfast served in meeting room

9:00-9:05 AM

Welcome by Nate Newman

9:05–10:05 AM

Alex Zettl (plenary), The past, present and future of 2D materials, Univ. of California, Berkeley

10:05-10:50 AM

Qing Cao, Carbon nanotube transistor technology: The past, the present, and the future, Univ. Illinois Urbana Champagne

10:50-11:00 AM  Break

11:00 -11:45 AM

Sufei Shi, Fundamentals & Future Aspects of 2D Excitons, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)

11:45–12:10 PM

Houlong L. Zhuang, Lei Liu, Duo Wang, and Immanuella Kankam, From Pentagonal Geometries to Two-Dimensional Materials, Arizona State University

12:10–1:15 PM  Hosted Lunch

Afternoon Session Chair: Jim Huffman, Lawrence Semiconductor Research Laboratory

1:15 PM–2:30 PM

Tingyi Gu, Influence of Van der Waals interface in hybrid integrated photonics towards high-speed operations, University of Delaware

2:30-3:15 PM

Charles Hunt , Using AP-CVD Ge homoepitaxy in high-speed photodiodes for X-ray & infrared Imaging arrays, Univ. of California, Davis

3:15-3:30 PM  Break

3:30-4:15 PM

Jason Hoffman, Noncollinear Spintronics: Materials and Devices, Harvard University

4:15-5:00 PM

Chris Palmstrom, Materials for Topological Quantum Computing Applications, Univ. of Calif. Santa Barbara

5:00-5:30 PM

Introduction & then three minute rapid-fire presentations by our industrial sponsors

6:10-7:30 PM  Hosted dinner


Tuesday, February 18th

Entire Program: 8:00 AM- 5:00 PM, Banquet dinner 5:45- 7:45 PM

Morning Session Chair: Charles Hunt, U.C. Davis

8:00 – 9:00 AM  Hosted Breakfast served in meeting room

9:00-9:45 AM

Jean Fompeyrine, Epitaxy & direct wafer bonding for heterogenous integration in future silicon technology, Zurich/IBM

9:45-10:10 AM

Lis K. Nanver, Deposition methods & device physics of nanometer-thin pure boron layers incorporated in silicon devices, Univ. of Twente & Aalborg University

10:10 – 10:25 AM  Break

10:25-11:10 AM

Junkyo Suh, Low Resistance III-V Hetero-contacts to n-Ge, Stanford University

11:10-11:35 AM

Rigo A. Carrasco, Stefan Zollner, Arnold Kiefer, Bruce B. Claflin, Stephanie A. Chastang, Jinsong Duan, Gordon J. Grzybowski, Electronic band structure and free carrier properties of strained tin-germanium alloys on InSb from FTIR ellipsometry, New Mexico State Univ., Air Force Res. Lab., Wright-Patterson AFB, KBR

11:35 AM-12:20 PM

Alex Dommann, Examples of multi-dimensional distribution maps of crystal lattice strain and tilt of monolithic silicon structures, Empa, Mat. Sci. & Tech. Switz.

12:20 – 1:30 PM  Hosted Lunch

Afternoon Session Chair: Alex Dommann, Empa, Mat. Sci. & Tech. Switz.

1:30-2:15 PM

Robert Nemanich, Epitaxy of Doped Diamond, Arizona State University

2:15-3:00 PM

Jon-Paul Maria, Synthesis and characteristics of epitaxial oxide/ GaN heterostructures, Penn State

3:50- 3:25 PM  Break

3:25-3:50 PM

David Shahin, Aayush Thapa and Aris Christou, Thick Gallium Nitride Epitaxial Layers, Defect Characterization and Impact on Wide Bandgap Power Electronics, University of Maryland

3:50-4:35 PM

Houqiang Fu, Kai Fu, and Yuji Zhao, Selective Area Regrowth and Doping for Vertical GaN Power Transistors: Challenges and Recent Progress, Arizona State University

4:35-5:00 PM

Yu Yao, Jing Ba, Ali Basiri, Xiahui Chen, Jiawei Zuo, Chao Wang, Highly efficient on-chip integratable metamaterials for polarimetric detection and imaging, Arizona State University

5:45- 6:15 PM Dinner Banquet, Plenary Speaker
Jerry Woodall, New Ways to Convert & Store Intermittent Power, U. of Calif., Davis
6:15-7:45 PM Hosted Dinner Banquet


Wednesday, February 19th

Entire Program: 8:00 AM -12:05 PM, box lunch provided at 12:05

Morning Session Chair: Cameron Kopas, Arizona State University

8:00 – 9:00 AM  Hosted Breakfast served in meeting room

9:00–9:45 AM

Kevin Schulte, Dynamic Hydride Vapor Phase Epitaxy of High-Performance III-V Optoelectronic Devices, National Renewable Energy Lab

9:45-10:30 AM

D. K. Ferry, H. Esmaielpour, K. R. Dorman, T. B. Mishima, M. B. Santos, V. R. Whiteside, and I. R. Sellers, Valley Photovoltaics: Quest for a True Hot Carrier Solar Cell, Arizona State University and University of Oklahoma

10:30-10:45 AM  Break

10:45-11:30 AM

Stephen T. Schaefer, R. R. Kosireddy, Marko S. Milosavljevic, Preston T. Webster, Shane R. Johnson, Impact of growth conditions, surface reconstructions, and substrate offcut on the structural and optical properties of InAsSbBi grown on GaSb by molecular beam epitaxy, Arizona State University

11:30 AM-12:00 PM

Zhi Zhao, Jing Bai, Yu Yao, Chao Wang, Printing continuous metal structures via polymer-assisted photochemical deposition, Arizona State University

12:00–12:05 AM

Closing remarks by Nate Newman

12:05 PM

Close of Symposium

12:05 PM Hosted Box lunch served